Home > Events

Beanpot Tournament

The Beanpot Hockey Tournament is a contest between four local colleges. The event has become a huge tradition in Boston, and dates back to 1952. The participating local hockey teams are: the Boston College Eagles, Boston University Terriers, Harvard University Crimson, and Northeastern University Huskies. BU has won the most championships over the years by a large margin.

The tournament lasts two rounds, with the first round opponents being rotated each year. The second round features a consolation game between the two teams that lost in the first round, and the championship game between the victors. The tradition of the tournament allows for all teams to know exactly how they will match up with each other every year.

The Beanpot winning team gains the bragging rights as best hockey team in Boston, and promotes an aggressive cross-town rivalry between the colleges. The Beanpot Trophy of course resembles a large beanpot mounted on a conical base. The games are played in TD Garden, home of the famous Boston Bruins NHL team.


Event Details

Beanpot Hockey Tournament

2020 Tournament Schedule:

Monday February 3, 2020, 5:00 pm 
Monday February 10, 2020, 4:30 pm 
Verify schedule at official web site just prior to event.

2019 Tournament Results:

Monday February 4, 2019 
Semifinal #1: Boston College 2, Harvard 1 
Semifinal #2: Northeastern 2, Boston University 1

Monday February 11, 2019
Consolation Game: Harvard 5, Boston University 2 
Championship Game: Northeastern 4, Boston College 2


TD Garden




Refer to official web site.

Event Location (Click on pin for directions)
Major Events Calendar


Copyright © 2020 CelebrateBoston.com