Category

City Hall Plaza Concerts & 
Christopher Columbus ParkARTS

During the summer, there are free concerts at City Hall Plaza, and along the waterfront at Christopher Columbus Park. The plaza program is known today as Mayor Menino's Wednesday Night Concert Series (formerly known as the Dorothy Curran Concert Series), and are scheduled for selected Wednesday evenings at 7:00 pm. A stage is set up on the north side of Boston City Hall, with attendees sitting or standing on the plaza stairs opposite the stage.

There are also free concerts and other performances at Christopher Columbus Park in the North End, which are part of Boston's ParkArts and Waterfront Performing Arts Series programs.

City Hall Concerts Boston
City Hall Plaza Stage

Boston abounds in culture and the arts. The City of Boston has a long history of sponsoring free events in the city's neighborhoods. Earlier programs date back to the 1970s and even further, when an event series was known as SummerThing.

The free concerts showcase Boston's diversity and deep appreciation for the arts. From patriotic music to disco or reggae, the concerts provide a variety of music for residents and tourists. Performing artists can vary from Shakespeare to opera or even pantomime.

Enjoy a free performance at City Hall Plaza or Christopher Columbus Park. Boston's historic waterfront is just a short walk away!

 

*** Dates or Times Subject to Change by the City ***

June, 2013

Saturday June 8, 12:00 - 6:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Gay Pride Festival

Sunday June 30, 4:00 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Mozart's Cosi Fan Tutte Opera 
Performed by the North End Music and Performing Arts Center

July, 2013

Wednesday July 3, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Children's Day 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
Wayne Potash & The Music Fun Band

Wednesday July 3, 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
Town Hall Blues Band

Thursday July 4, 2:00 pm - 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Cape Verdean Festival

Friday July 5, 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
"GUY" Band

Friday July 5, 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
DownCity Band

Saturday July 6, 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
BaHa Brothers Band

Saturday July 6, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm 
Boston City Hall Plaza 
Boston HarborFest Celebration 
PRIMAL FUNK Band

Saturday July 13, 7:00 - 9:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Caliente Latin Festival
 
Jerry Rivera Concert

Sunday July 14, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"Edwards Scissorhands"

Sunday July 21, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"Singin' in the Rain"

Wednesday July 24, 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Mayor Menino's Concert Series
 
The Stylistics 
Rain Location: Strand Theatre (Limited Capacity)

Sunday July 28, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"Romancing the Stone"

Wednesday July 31, 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Mayor Menino's Concert Series
 
Disco Night with The Stardust Band 
Rain Location: Strand Theatre (Limited Capacity)

August 2013

Sunday August 4, 5:00 - 8:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
GospelFest
 
Fred Hammond Concert

Sunday August 4, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"The Karate Kid"

Tuesday August 6, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Waterfront Arts Series
 
Performer: TBA

Wednesday August 7, 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Mayor Menino's Concert Series
 
Strictly Sinatra featuring Michael Dutra

Saturday August 10, 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm 
Marine Industrial Park, South Boston 
Boston Urban Music Project
 
Expanding on the Peace Hip Hop Concert

Sunday August 11, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"Seabiscuit"

Tuesday August 13, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Waterfront Arts Series
 
Performer: TBA

Thursday August 15, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Boston GreenFest

Friday August 16, 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Boston GreenFest

Saturday August 17, 11:00 am - 8:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Boston GreenFest

Sunday August 18, Sunset 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Sunday Night Movie Series
 
"The Great Gatsby" (1974)

Tuesday August 20, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Waterfront Arts Series
 
Performer: TBA

Wednesday August 21, 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Mayor Menino's Concert Series
 
Charlie Thomas & the Drifters 
Rain Location: Strand Theatre (Limited Capacity)

Tuesday August 27, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Waterfront Arts Series
 
Performers: TBA

Wednesday August 28, 7:00 pm 
City Hall Plaza 
Mayor Menino's Concert Series
 
Roberta Flack 
Rain Location: Strand Theatre (Limited Capacity)

Sat-Sun August 31-September 1, 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm 
Christopher Columbus Park 
Boston Arts Festival

 

Contact Information & Address:

City Hall Concert Series 
100 City Hall Plaza, Boston, MA 02109 
cityofboston.gov/parks 
617.635.3911 (Updates)

 

Waterfront Performing Arts Series 
Christopher Columbus Park, 100 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 
cityofboston.gov/arts 
617.635.3911 (Updates)

 

 

Share
Copyright © 2014 CelebrateBoston.com